An Agenda/ Road Map for the Uganda Journalists Association (UJA) Annual General Assembly (AGM) was approved by the Executive Committee on 8th December 2022 pursuant to Articles 7C (2) of the Association’s constitution which sets out its duties among which passing binding decisions and 7C (10) which requires the Executive Committee to ensure application of the same constitution, and released on 12th December 2022.

it was released in line with Article 7A, which mandates the office of Secretary General (SG) to release the Notice for convention of an AGM with the office of President, Article 6C (i) which mandates the SG office to screen membership applications and maintain member’s register, Article 8 which requires SG with the President to draw, publish an Agenda/Road Map for AGM and convene AGM with Article 10 which describes how an election shall be conducted during AGM.

All activities leading to the AGM shall be conducted as follows;
1. On 12th December 2022, Notice shall be issued to members with regard to AGM schedule.
2. Between 13th December 2022 to 05th February 2023, Updating Members Registers shall take place at the Association’s offices from 10:00 am – 6:00 pm.
3. Between 26th January 2O23 to 28th January 2023, all eligible Candidates shall be picking forms for vetting/ nominations from 10:00 am – 6:00 pm.
4. Between 30th January 2023 to 1st February 2023, vetting/nomination of Candidates shall take place by the Committee from 10:00 am – 6:00 pm.
5. Between 2nd February 2023– 25th February 2023, campaigns shall be open to all Candidates.
6. Between 15th February 2023- 18th February 2023, Display of Member’s Registers shall take place.
7. On 25th February 2023, AGM shall convene from 9:00 am – 5:00 pm, under which elections shall take place. Note; Venue shall be communicated in the due course.

The following Regulations were approved by the Executive Committee sitting on 21st September 2020 and upheld by the same on 8th December 2022.

Their approval followed thorough consultations by a Select Committee with former Association presidents who also happens to be our elders constitutionally, selected journalists and journalism trainers from various Universities and Higher Institutions of Learning with an objective of setting standards to streamline the Association’s leadership, governance and electoral processes.

All was done in consideration of various provisions of the Association’s Constitution in Article 7C (9) which empowers the Executive Committee to approve regulations stipulating how UJA shall be organized internally, Article 7C (13) which allows the Executive Committee to deal with matters of emergency and Article 6 (C) which sets out circumstances under which one losses membership.

Qualifications and Disqualifications for an Aspirant or A Candidate.
1. Any member wishes to contest on any leadership position must be a citizen of Uganda with minimum qualification of a diploma in journalism or mass communication from a recognized academic institution.
2. Any member who wishes to stand for any position must have been a full member for at least two years to the AGM.
3. Aspirant or Candidate shall present his or her CV with 3 referees. One of referees shall be News Editor /Producer/ Station manager or any one serving in similar capacities.
4. Candidate or Aspirant shall meet payment of nomination fees as follows; President 400,000, Vice President 300,000/, Secretary General 200 000, Deputy Secretary General 150 000, Treasurer 200,000, while the rest of offices; 100,000. All the money in shillings currency shall be paid through bank in the UJA account.
5. Aspirant or Candidate shall have un questionable integrity and moral standards.
6. Any person whose actions grossly and persistently undermine or being contrary to the vision and aspirations of UJA shall not qualify for any position.
8. No Candidate or Aspirant with contempt, disregard or willful violation of the UJA leadership shall qualify for any offices

1. President
2. Vice President
3. Secretary General
4. Assistant Secretary General
5. Treasurer
6. Organizing Secretary
7. Secretary for Education
8. Secretary for Employment
9. Secretary for People with Disabilities
10. Secretary for Information
11. Assistant Secretary for Information
12. Secretary for External Relations
13. Secretary for Women in Media
14. Secretary for media safety and human rights
15. Secretary for Health and Social Welfare
16. Secretary for production
17. Representative for Central Region
18. Representative for Western Region
19. Representative for Eastern Region
20. Representative for Northern Region

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *